Here We Go……

It’s finally happened.  After months of feeling very pleased with myself for keeping healthy I have come down with not only the sniffles, but a nasty cough and a cold 😦  I’m feeling a bit rough today and have to go into work if only to sort some free equipment for Church which the Faculty are gifting us as it’s not going to be used elsewhere!!!

Anyway, it’s been a funny few days with Joel out of nappies and in his big boy pants.  We had a couple of days at home with lots of wees in pottys success, and then on Tuesday he went to Grandma’s and wee’d in her potty too, so success.  Then they took him Nottingham to play with cousin Martha where he pooed his pants (to be expected I guess) and had an accident during lunchtime as my parents didn’t notice he was squirming and holding himself 😦  That one was a shame as he could have made it but he was too shy to say at a strange house.  Plus he seemed to be a bit not himself by the afternoon and was coming down with something so had a dose of calpol before bed.

Anyway, I chatted to his nursery key person and she said to send him in pants to nursery yesterday which I did and I showed him the kiddie toilets and the potty which he could use, we sang our wee wee in the potty song and he seemed a bit unsure but I thought we’d see how things went.

Meanwhile, I was feeling a sore throat coming on, I was sneezing for England, and starting to feel a bit grotty in my head.  As was Steve.

So yesterday at 3.30pm I rang the nursery to see how he was getting on as you don’t always get enough time to talk when picking up, and was astounded that she said he had held his wee all day long.  Since dropping him off at 8.20 he had not wee’d.  Not even during his nap when they’d put a nappy on him.  That was no wee in over 7 hours.  She said it showed impressive bladder control but wasn’t what they wanted either!!!  He’d also not been feeling too well, so had used his two Calpol doses up which had helped.

I decided to finish work a bit early to take him home and when I got there they were having a wedding party tea as one of the ladies was getting married so they were all dressed up.  Joel looked at me and grinned, and shouted ‘hello Mummy!  I did a big wee!!  Look, we’re having a party’!!  I asked if he’d made it to a potty, and the answer was no, but at least he had done a wee even if it was in his pants!!

The other issue we’ve had this week is that the dog has not been well.  Whether she had eaten something horrid on Sunday afternoon once Steve and his Mum decided to let her loose on the canal side I don’t know, could it have been from canal water?  I do think of canals as rather dirty and unhygienic.  Anyway, Monday evening she began with a bad upset stomach.  And hadn’t asked to go outside.  She just slunk into the dining room (thank goodness the carpet will going very soon) and made a big mess which Steve had to sort out.  And again that night.  And the next day.  So I was a bit worried as to what I’d find on getting in with Joel in pants and it all got crazy.  Izzy was missing to start with.  On getting home that distracted me enough to not sit Joel on the potty as I was ringing Steve and my parents to see whether they’d got her.  The answer was no.  Joel then went to play and did a huge wee and poo in his pants.  Drat.   Izzy was located shut upstairs, as Steve had obviously not noticed her follow him up after walking her and then shut the gates keeping her where she is not meant to go.  She slept on our bed (urgh) and then had an accident in the back room which demonstrated to me that she had another stomach infection.

IMG_6937

Woof, sorry Mum!!

I rang my Dad to come and sit with Joel for 30 minutes and took Izzy to the vet who confirmed it.  One £50 vets bill later, she’s on anti-biotics, got some nasty coal stuff to settle her tummy, needed an injection and I have to cook her plain white rice, boiled chicken and scrambled egg!!  She is never being allowed off the lead unsupervised again!!  It’s just not worth it.  And certainly not in her best interests.

So I had a messy Joel to clean up, and a gross dog mess to sort out, a vets to visit all whilst starting to feel really ill.  Not a good day.

Thank goodness that Thursday is my Friday and I can stay in tomorrow to rest up.  Well, at least as much as one can rest with a toddler in pants!!

Leave a comment