Mr Know It All

Suddenly Joel seems to think that he knows it all.  And if it turns out that he doesn’t he gets a bit cross.  I’m not sure where it’s come from!  It’s worse when he’s tired.  And even worse again when I’m tired.

Steve has been away today and won’t be back till late tomorrow night.  And I think Joel felt weakness.  I didn’t sleep well last night, I was feeling anxious about my Moo Doo (which went well in the end!!) but man, I was weary this afternoon.

Joel played up and was just generally difficult all afternoon.  Maybe it’s because I was tired and not making enough effort to be patient, but somedays i just have less patience than others.  i’d planned a busy event which he and Josiah went to, then as Joss napped after lunch joel and I sat and watched Brave on DVD.

Then we had to go to Asda for shopping and Joel decided he did not want to sit in the trolley.  I knew he would be running off around the shelves and asking for everything so I put him in the trolley saying it was that or wait in the car, (obviously I did not want to leave him in the car, and I don’t think I’d have followed that through?!) but he then proceeded to scream and yell for the first few aisles.  I ignored him as he after a response, and I was feeling very fed up with his behaviour this afternoon.

Then we picked up a couple of hats for our holiday next month, (two matching Jake and pirates ones) and Joel just started being naughty again.  He just starts ignoring me and what I say.  So he pulled his wellies off (which he was wearing by choice) and started chewing on them.  i asked him to put it down, they are very muddy wellies and he continued.  I gave him two warnings that I would put his hat back if he wasn’t good and he carried on, so I put his hat on a random shelf and off he went.  Major tantrum and yelling, smacking me and what’s worse is that josiah started copying him.

I do not want either child thinking that they can get away with this, and I was feeling upset that Joel think’s he can do this.  maybe I expect too much of him, and I know he doesn’t like Steve being away but he kept saying ‘please don’t tell daddy’, so he knows it’s wrong but chooses to act up anyway.

The other daft bit is that I’m sure I was like that at his age too.  I ran my mum ragged so maybe I should just take a deep breath and remember that he’s only three, (for another 6 days at least!)

When he’s good, he’s absolutely great!  i tried a hat on and he said that it looked ‘lovely mummy’!   He comes out with some fabulous comments and statements.  I hope it’s just a being tired and grumpy thing rather than a sign of things to come.  It just adds a whole new level to the challenge of parenting!

Josiah is also growing up even more!  He’s suddenly a complete climber and I blink and he’s on the arm of the sofa!  He loves waybaloo and we have some cuddly piplings that joel had, and he loves playing with them.  Still not walking, but pulling up and standing a lot more now.

He’s a lot more bossy now than Joel was, (although he seems to be more bossy these days), and he shouts where he wants to go, what he wants, and for any reason really!  He wants to feed himself all the time and if you offer a spoon he has a mini tantrum.  But he is so loving, and cuddly.  He’s going through a clingy phase where he only wants me, and if Steve takes him downstairs, or i leave him with Steve for a shower he will scream and scream!  I guess I could be flattered, but it is a little wearing as well.

I feel bad that i’m criticising them, as they are good more often than not, and I’m not sure if what I determine as good is too high a standard?!  How can you decide a standard?

Argh!  I hope I’m doing things right!IMG_9197 IMG_9190 IMG_9183 IMG_9179 IMG_9178 IMG_9170 IMG_9167 IMG_9165 IMG_9159

Leave a Reply

