Time to blog….

It’s been an absolute age.  I just have not had the time or inclination to sit down and write for this blog recently.

What have I been doing for the last month?

Well, I am setting up a new music group for kiddies in my town.  I have bought a franchise called Moo Music and it’s something I feel I can really behind and endorse.  There are 100 original children’s songs, characters, a farmyard theme and I’ve been setting up two Monday morning sessions at a town centre church.  I began with free taster sessions in half term which were well attended and seemed to go down quite well.  13 of the mums said they’d return.  I set my hopes at 8.  One of them emailed me immediately to say that they’d loved it but would prefer a baby session.  She said she could bring a couple of friends with her and the church preferred to rent their hall for two hours minimum so I decided to go for an all age session to start with and a baby session afterwards.

Last week I was very nervous to see if anyone would turn up.  People had said they’d pay directly into my bank account but no one had!  So I went along and there was one mum and child at 9.39 (I begin at 9.40) and so we started with me feeling a bit deflated and then two more came along a bit late.  The same happened this week but newcomers are as good a chance to sign up so I’m just working on boosting numbers for that session.  My BabyMoo session however is going well.  I have five mums who have all signed up for this half term and it’s a nice little group.

Last week at the all age session two new mums came along with two incredibly wild children who didn’t sit, engage or anything helpful, just ran about scaring the one baby (who has now changed to babymoo!) and causing chaos.  I was almost pleased that they didn’t come this morning.  Instead I had a new mum with her son who had picked up the songs quickly, and joined in beautifully!

I am going back to my day job next month so can’t really do as much with Moo Music as I’d like right now.  But building up a couple of groups will do for now.  if the opportunity for voluntary redundancy comes along I will take it and then look at extra groups in pre schools and nurseries.  I’m really excited at the prospect of a change.  I know I don’t want to commute to work so when my office closes next year and Joel begins school I want to be the one to collect him every day.  And I’m looking forward to creating that opportunity for myself.

Facebook Cover Photo

Leave a Reply

