Weaning Time….

Joel was a dream to wean.  He just opened his mouth and beamed at me pretty much as to whatever went into it!  He cleared bowls of pureed vegetables, fruits and happily moved on to lumps and finger foods.

I naively assumed the same would happen for Josiah!  It hasn’t!

 

Crumpet

Crumpet

Toast and plums

Toast and plums

photo 1 (36)

I carefully prepared some different purees and in his first week at 23 weeks he had roasted butternut squash, pear, apple, carrots, baby rice but each one seemed to go in ok at first then get rejected with lots of crying until he could latch on for my milk and glare at me with his perfectly formed eyebrows.

He seemed to like the flavour but bnot the mush or spoon.

So after seeing the HV last week (he weighed in at 24 weeks 17lbs and 14oz) she suggested starting some vegetable and fruit fingers for baby led weaning.  So I dutifully steamed broccoli, peppers, sweet potato and green beans.  And he loved picking it up, putting it in his mouth and nomming it.  But again, once it got time for him to swallow he got stressed and upset.  This part is taking its time and not coming very naturally.  He can do it.  But it’s taking its time.

He seems to enjoy sitting on my knee and eating whatever I’m nibbling on.  He loved sharing my plum and nectarine today.  I gave him a slice of nectarine and he nommed it, and some was going in, and I assume going down as he didn’t spit it out.  He’s had cucumber, bread sticks, rice cakes and some baby corn rings.  But he still prefers mummy milk.  I will be trying him with pasta next week and other soft food like that.  And maybe some proper food on a spoon again with lumps since he rejected the puree’d version!!

But here’s some pics of him enjoying the new tastes before he gets to the stressy bit…

Cucumber stick

Cucumber stick

Carrot

Carrot

Rice cake

Rice cake

So I’m perservering with it all, and hoping that he gets the hang of swallowing soon.  He gags a lot but that’s normal.  He had a little choke last week but was sick and fine afterwards.  It’s all so stressful watching him like a hawk in case he gets into difficulty.  Breast fed babies are meant to take to it better as they use the same muscles for feeding whereas bottle fed babies don’t.  So he should be ok.  Maybe I’m expecting too much of him.  I really hope it clicks soon and we can enjoy meals.  I know he’s still not quite six months so it’s more about exploring tastes and textures at the moment.  Time will tell!!  He’s certainly not dropping any milk feeds yet!!!

Leave a Reply

