A Lovely Day!!

I wasn’t sure what I’d be doing with my boys this weekend.  It’s meant to rain and rain and Steve is filming wedding after wedding on a Saturday at the moment and I know he worries about money, but I can’t help but feel that he’s missing out on the boys and not really giving me a break at all to help out at a weekend 😦

Anyway, yesterday was Friday and my parents were childminding Martha for the day and offered to take Joel with them saying they’d be back after tea.   Plus, it makes their day a bit more easy as Joel and Martha just entertain each other and play nicely together.

Which meant I had an extra day of just Joss and me!

Our fellow sorting our garden came in the morning and when he’s here I have to stay in the house to supply coffee and biscuits and help with any queries.  I’ve been feeling a bit house bound this past week so when the rain came and he decided to head home I was a bit relieved as it meant I could do as I pleased for a day!

Having fed Josiah I popped him in the car and we headed to town.  Steve wanted me to pay some cash into the bank for him, and I hadn’t exchanged my birthday present from Steve yet (he got me a charm which I already had!!) and I had an M&S voucher from my Aunt I’d not spent yet.

So having queued in the bank for ages I was footloose and fancy free and went to the jewellers.  I exchanged my charm for a Thomas Sabo necklace and charm carrier and got a cute little charm in the sale so I was very chuffed!!I think my bracelet is full enough now, I don’t want it to be a massive bulky thing so have told Steve we need a new plan for presents as he liked knowing he could buy a charm!!  He’s not great at thinking what I’d like (although I have an extensive Amazon wishlist!!)  Anyway, I love my new necklace and the fact I can change the charms over, and can wear it for Josiah’s dedication on Sunday 🙂

Then I went to M&S.  I’ve had this voucher for over a month and didn’t know what to buy with it.  There was nothing really I wanted from our town’s store as it’s all rather aimed at older folk clothes wise.  But my sister had suggested I get some nice food with it and I liked that idea!  Steve was working late yesterday and Joel was sorted so I went and chose a Dine in for £10 offer and picked food I knew I’d like but Steve wouldn’t really!!  I got a Moussaka, little roast potatoes and a delicious blackcurrant and vanilla pudding!  I picked up a free bottle of pink fizz and used the remainder of the voucher on walnut whips and a nice tin of shortbread!!  I was very pleased and looking forward to dinner 🙂   And not to mention that the cashier asked me for ID because of the wine!  I laughed, thinking she was joking, as I don’t carry ID being 35 years old!!  After a lot of blagging and persuading I was allowed to purchase it!!

And having learnt via the great blog ‘A Thrifty Mrs’ that I could find nail varnish bargains in Poundland, I got two Sally Hansen colours which will be perfect for Josiah’s dedication and match my dress as my nails are pathetically weak and require extra strength!!  Yay!!

Then on coming home I popped to Asda for some meals this week and the traffic was building up.  We have a lot of crazy roadworks going on all at the same time so driving anywhere is a pain at the moment.  The road back to my house was queuing very slowly all the way into town as far as our road so I was extra happy to have missed all that by going out early rather than later.

In the afternoon Joss and I took Izzy out for a walk as the sun shone for a brief while and I sat down to enjoy my M&S meal (leaving Steve a plate although he wasn’t enamoured!!).

And to top it all off I’d entered a raffle earlier in the week and got a message last night to say I’d won a new Pacapod changing bag!  How great was that?!

Mum and Dad had got stuck in Nottingham later than planned so didn’t get back until 9pm!  Joel was fast asleep in the car and transferred to bed fine.  And he woke up at 8am this morning and did a huge wee in the toilet and hasn’t wet the bed once since going into pants!  Maybe I’m counting my chickens but I think that’s pretty great of him!!!  That’s a whole week being dry at night at the age of three.  Knowing it took Steve and his brothers years (!) I’m rather pleased that a bit of encouragement and training has worked as well as it seems to have done.

Now, what to do today whilst Steve is at his wedding and the weather is bad?!

Leave a Reply

