Passion Projects..#BEDM

What do you love and would like to make money from?

Todays topic could be very relevant in a years time as where I work is closing down in 18 months time and I don’t know whether I’ll get a job with them at the other site or not.  It would mean a very busy commute and with two children in childcare/school it is a whole logistical nightmare to be honest.

I have been pondering what else I could do with my life.  I have worked in my office for 13 years!  I am a very good administrator but have always been in the public sector so the thought of private industry is a bit daunting.  I am not someone who ever really had an aim to ‘be’ something.  I just wanted to be happy, get married and have babies!  My job is second to my home life.  It doesn’t define me. but I enjoy working in Higher Education and that sort of environment.  I’m a good organiser and good with computers.  I guess that may sound boring, but it’s life and it’s my life!!  I have been watching ‘An American Office’ and can relate a lot to that programme!!

My husband is a self employed fellow who set his own film company up and does exceedingly well at it.  He is in dire need of an administrator but I just don’t know whether we could work together at all!  It would be worth a trial I think but I don’t that mixing home and business would be a good idea at all.

I would love to be able to write a novel.   I know it’s said that everyone has at least one novel inside them.  I just don’t know that I could come up with something brand new!  I could imagine I’d be good at writing a cheesy romance!  And I doubt I’d take the constructive criticism very well!!  Plus I don’t really have the time at the moment.  But isn’t that the excuse everyone uses.  Apart from those who do actually put pen to paper and come up with a bestseller!!

images (4)

Ironically, I do enjoy organising things.  I guess thats the administrator in me.  I think every girl who has planned her own wedding has thought of setting up as a wedding planner as they enjoyed it so much.   The thought crossed my mind 4 years ago but only briefly as I then thought every bride wants to plan her own day and I would not have wanted to pass anything over to a planner and pay them for it!  Im sure there are some who would but it’s a bit of a full industry really.  There isn’t a great call for party planners around the Midlands.

A lot of business these days seems to thrive on networking.   My husband attends at least two breakfast meetings every fortnight to boost his business but I dont’ know whether I’d like that or not!!  I’m very stuck in my ways at the moment.   I’ve never been without at job, since my first Saturday job when I was 17 working in Dunlem Mill stores!!  I then worked at Thorntons whilst at University which was great for chocolate samples, I worked at a cinema during the summer holidays when back at home and then at Wedgwood for two summer seasons and once I graduated.  I was a receptionist before beginning admin work in their office.

I think being a lady of leisure is very appealing but I’m sure I’d get bored!  I have a creative side but at this present time, with sleep deprivation and two kiddies, unless I come p with a newer version of the post it, I think I’ll have to say lets go for the novel writing as a provisional enterprise!!

One thought on “Passion Projects..#BEDM

  1. Sounds like you have a very exciting time coming up! I am a great believer in that everything happens for a reason and try not to worry about it, easier said than done, I know.

    Like

Leave a Reply

