Weekend Wedding

So I finished work last Thursday and was excited to have a very nice weekend ahead with a lovely wedding to go to and a night in a posh hotel in Newbury!!

Friday was a great day.  My old school chum came to visit in the morning and my friend and her daughter came for a play date in the afternoon which made Joel’s day!  “Come on Trudy, come on” he cried, taking her hand and pulling her to his toy room and showing her the garden.  It was very sweet.

Then for some unfathomable reason he woke up at 1.30am and was awake for 4 hours.  The night before the wedding I was looking forward to.  Meaning I would be tired for it all 😦  By about 5am he was getting sleepy and I climbed back into bed for another couple of hours sleep but had to get up, shower, wash and style hair, apply makeup, pack car, walk dog, pack picnic lunch and set off by 9am.  It was hectic.

We made good time driving down though and arrived at the hotel for 11.45.  We couldn’t check in as our rooms weren’t ready but they let us sit down and eat our sandwiches, and Joel ate well, (egg rolls, sausage rolls, grapes and a chocolate cake!)!

We then had to change in the ladies powder room (see, I said it was posh!!) and all I had to do really was pull a dress on (Amy’s lovely French Connection maxi) and reapply lipstick.  Oh, and put my contact lenses in!!  No glasses for me at a wedding!!

Steve’s family arrived as well, and we set off down the high street to the church.  It was a lovely big, ornate Church of England church in the middle of the town.  Probably the sort which cost a lot to book!  Having never had to pay for our church service as we were members it seems odd having to hire it, but it was lovely.  And so full of people.  It was a big wedding.  We had 140 guests to ours, but I reckon they had about 160!! 

It was a nice service, with a good talk, and some modern hymns.   The bridesmaids were all stunning in their coral dresses, and the bride was gorgeous and tiny in her fishtail, diamante gown and veil.  After the service they served drinks and cakes in the church hall whilst the bells rang out and we nibbled and drank before going back to the hotel to check in properly.

Then it was a 30 minute drive to the reception venue which was a lovely place.   A residential place for kids, there was a nice private wedding barn with garden and rooms, a lavender walk and the drinks reception offered pimms and elderflower cordial (just what we had at our wedding as well!!)

After photographs, which were taken on steps in front of the old manor we mingled with our drinks (and yes, I was a little big naughty and had one glass of Pimms) and canapes.  I love a canape!!  Then it was time to sit down (the wedding planner was trying to keep everything on schedule) and we were ushered through to the barn.  There were 16 tables of folk all quite close together, so I was glad to be sat by the open door and in a through breeze.

No one had commented on my thickened middle, as a lot of the bloating which was there two weeks ago has gone down a bit, although to me it was obvious.  One of Steve’s cousins’ wives gave me a double take and a bit of a tummy stare but didn’t say anything.  Maybe the Pimms in my hand made her think otherwise?!!!  So I’m still safe to announce it in the manner and timing I want to after my next scan on 5th August.

And the starters were great.  I had opted for salmon mousse which was so delicious, and Steve had melon with parma ham.  However, there was a spare plate of ham and melon on our table which I was allowed to eat as the orderer was arriving late!  So I got two starters and they were both lovely!!

Steve and I both chose the lamb which was a bit heavy for such a hot day and we wished we’d gone for the chicken option, but all was redeemed with puddings as I had the nicest raspberry eton mess in the entire world ever and Steve was happy with his cheesecake and blueberry coulis!!

The flowers were stunning, and there were so many wall flowers, table flowers, arrangements everywhere, and the barn was somewhere you could really make your mark and personal taste stand out.

The wedding cake was a towering three tier creation of moulded white chocolate and lemon sponge which was very impressive, and looked like something from the Choccywoccydoodah shop (whether it was I’ll never know!!)

And the speeches were all great too!  Father of the bride, groom and best man.  They were amusing, not too long and really came across well.

I kept thinking that if this were on the programme Four Weddings, I’d be giving it a jolly good score!  And what was nice, was that I didn’t feel my wedding was lacking anything that was there on Saturday either!  I loved my wedding just as it was, except for two things.  My best friend was in Australia and so wasn’t able to be bridesmaid, and I forgot the flower corsages for my brothers in law in all the stress beforehand so they didn’t look part of the wedding party!!  Oh well!!

Joel was the handsomest two year old there in the pageboy outfit which Theo and Isaac wore to my wedding.  It’s so nice it got to be worn again.  Look how handsome and cute he is!  Little poser!! 

Image

The next morning we had a very good breakfast, before heading over to a park for Joel to play football, play on the swings and slides for the morning and by midday you could tell he was getting beyond the point of tiredness.  So it was back to the hotel, piling into our cars and all going our seperate ways.  Before we’d even got to the motorway Joel was fast asleep and I was driving, so got to pull over when I wanted to!! 

And when we got home Mum and Dad had been in sorting out the conservatory with some shelves for Joel’s toys and it looked brilliant.

So a lovely weekend was had in the end!!  And we all went to bed early!!

Leave a Reply

