Feeding the Family

These past few weeks, Steve has been making a bit effort to come home at 5 and have a meal with us rather than at 6pm.  It’s been good, as he gets to play and entertain Joel, and I get to cook and then we all sit together as a family.

The only issue at the moment is what to eat!

When we get in from work, it needs to be not too long, something tasty that everybody likes and easy to cook. 

I downloaded a menu planner from Netmums :- Link Here if Interested and it was really helpful.  It wasn’t too fathy, and having a plan at the start of the week meant I could do a big shop (or send Steve with a shopping list) and I was prepared for what to do every day.

We’ve used this for about two months, and although I’ve not always followed it religiously, we have had all the meals in different orders!!

Last night thought I attempted something different.  I love corned beef hash, although Steve is slightly more picky about food.  He likes burgers, hot dogs and generally just freezer junk food covered in reggae reggae sauce.  He’s no gourmet by any means of the word.

Anyway, he was grumbling about corned beef hash, which normally I fry into patties, and serve with a side of beans and a fried egg.  (I know, not terribly gourmet either but tasty!!) and so I decided to make it into a pie. 

Here’s my version:

Corned Beef Hash Pie

Pastry – 8oz plain flour, 4oz butter, cold water to bind.

Hash – A bundle of potatos, peeled and chopped., 3 carrots, peeled and chopped, 1 onion, peeled and diced, 1 tin of decent corned beef, chopped into cubes, Baked beans (optional).

1 – Cook chopped potatoes, onions and carrots in a pan of water. When soft drain the veg, and add chopped corned beef.

2 – Line the baking dish with rolled out pasty, and leave a third for the top.

3 – Stir the hash all around, add some baked beans, and put it in the pastry, then add a top.  I didn’t bother with an egg wash because I was hungry, but if you want a nice shiny pastry lid I recommend it!!  I made a cross in the top to let the steam out and whilst that was cooking, I made some gravy and cooked some cauliflower and broccoli. 

4 – I then put it in the oven on 180 for 25 minutes, until it had cooked the pastry.

I thought it was tasty, and certainly Steve preferred to think he was eating a pie rather than corned beef hash.  Joel was not so enamoured as he really has a thing against potatoes in any form!

Oh well.  Back to the drawing board.  At least I liked it.

Leave a comment